Single & Lovin' It Vol. 1

Since bursting onto the DIY scene last summer, Hinds have mastered a raw and playful sound all their own. Leave Me Alone - twelve perfectly imperfect and charmingly lo-fi tracks inspired by contemporary American garage rockers like Mac DeMarco, Ty Segall and The Black Lips - is an exciting first look at to the Spanish quartet who are pioneering the burgeoning indie music scene in Madrid. Hinds, with only a handful of songs released, have already earned early support from Apple Music's Beats 1, Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, The FADER, Gorilla vs. Bear, BBC Radio, and more. Now with their debut on the horizon, Hinds are firmly establishing themselves as one of the best emerging acts of the year and show no sign of slowing down. Hinds are gearing up to release their highly anticipated debut album Leave Me Alone on January 8th via Mom + Pop, and today the band shares a new single off the LP entitled "San Diego." At just two and a half minutes long, "San Diego" is a fuzzed-out, melodic mantra from the Madrid-based four-piece, who always manage to sound like they're having the time of their lives while emphatically singing "stay close to me or know I'll die" as loud as they can in unison.

C.Y.T is Chris Yohei Tokunaga, an electronic music composer born in Kyoto and based in Berlin. C.Y.T’s psychotropic productions are brimming with the detail and precision technology allows, bringing together synthetic textures and arresting melodies with help from a regular cast of guest vocalists - including Nina Rotner and Laura Corallini. In creating structured songs and juxtaposing modern production techniques with more traditional elements, C.Y.T offers moods ranging from the melancholy and epic to the captivating and serene. The four songs on his debut EP, Nights For Days, flirt with the sounds of Arca and Hyperdub as well as Ella Fitzgerald and Blue Note - and it's this familiar yet forward-thinking approach that's already luring in a whole host of new listeners. Nights For Days EP will be released December 4th, but listen to “You and I (feat. Nina Rotner)” now. 

St. Louis-based The Brainstems bonded a few years ago at a local radio station, which led them to form a cover band indebted to garage rippers by Ty Segall and The Coachwhips. After a pact to pursue the rock life for real, the guys inevitably began to feel the tug of the twinkling coasts, career paths and the anchor of the dollar. The title of their debut album, No Place Else, is a nod to the decisions and developments that kept the band together. In anticipation of their debut LP, The Brainstems have shared their newest single, “Simple Joys"No Place Else is the first full-length from the garage foursome and is due out November 27th on Bad Diet Records.

Classically-trained 21-year-old Sam Willows, or Avenue, is responsible for some of Hype Machine's most-loved remixes, including those of Tears of Fears, Miami Horror, Carousel, Lemaitre, Citizens! and more. The Toronto-based producer, multi-instrumentalist and vocalist revealed the details of his debut EP, entitled Keep Counting, which is four songs full of slick basslines, shimmering synths, and catchy-as-hell melodies. As Avenue's first foray into original music, Keep Counting is the perfect introduction to this up-and-coming artist and producer, and proves Avenue has much more than top-notch remixes up his sleeves. Keep Counting and out on January 8th via Dine Alone Records, but currently you can listen to "Hot Slow Wind," a bass-heavy, dark-yet-dreamy slow-burner for when the clock strikes 2 on a Saturday night.

The She's light things up with their ever expanding range: the group that got its start while in middle school have brought their steadily amassed stylistic and dynamic breadth to the track, “Cherry Red,” produced by Patrick Brown at Different Fur. It bursts open with a driving surf beat cut with the laser-guided vocal counterpoint The She's are known for. Introducing a new split 45 via Empty Cellar Records featuring harmony-heavy San Francisco legacies The She's and The Dry Spells. Tight vocal harmonies, ambitious musical arrangements, and diverse influences meet on both sides of this record in a pairing that won't disappoint; a song for the party and one for the comedown.

Jonathan Dagan, known by his stage name, j.viewz, is an artist who is pushing the boundaries in the creative world, constantly innovating the dialogue with his audience. The New York-based songwriter, producer, and visual artist creates multilayered songs that blend raw elements with electronic music through his use of analog tapes, recordings of nature, and often, sounds sent by his audience. j.viewz is known for collaborating with guest vocalists and musicians. His production is frequently described as nostalgic, intricate, and detailed. j.viewz's latest musical experiment is the renowned DNA Project, a website presenting the step-by-step making of his next album in real-time. With the DNA Project, j.viewz invites his fans to follow his creative process in its entirety, providing access to the people, places, and sounds that inspire each song, as well as exclusive videos of his writing process, recording sessions, and innermost thoughts during his creation of new music. Since its launch, the DNA Project has generated buzz in digital communities. The album is set to be completed by early 2016, but now you can hear "Don't Pull Away," which features Rhye's Mike Milosh.

Plaza is the third album by Quilt; a name implying a meeting place, a crossroads, a coming together. In the space of ten songs, Plaza clarifies Quilt’s musical stance of a congregation, mixing folk, pop-psych, and wanderlust into a common ground where each form takes on the characteristics of one another to create something wholly satisfying, styles and sentiments hand in hand, the purest and sharpest distillation of Quilt’s group aesthetic to date. Plaza will see release on February 26th via Mexican Summer. Until then, you can listen to Quilt’s new single “Eliot St.,” a dazzling ballad that pulls together elements of folk, chamber music, and studio pop in a way the group has never done before.

Single & Lovin' It Vol. 2